365 Creativity Project-Day 300

Journal entry:

Journal 11-4-20120001

The following poem is in answer to the prompts at Poetic Asides and The Sunday Whirl. I combined the prompts so I would not have to write two poems. The words in italics are from the wordle at The Sunday Whirl. You might want to visit both sites if you are up to a real challenge.

Just Beneath Your Charm

I scramble into
The tumultuous depths out
Beyond the safe shore
Where waves are swelling with wrath,
Not like your upbeat surface.

Your core is rotten,
Others enable your acts,
But sanity flees
Before your unquenchable
Anger brought to bear on me.

My patience is key
Allowing me some freedom
To avoid the cost
Of the destruction you bring
Into my calm existence.

Your smooth charm belies
The unpleasantness carried
Within your evil
Heart, which explodes in fury
When you meet me face to face.

You are a bully
And I am your unwilling
Victim fallen prey
To your brutal malicious
Cruelty hidden in charm.

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan
Sunday, November 4, 2012

Photographs:

DSC_0040

DSC_0041

DSC_0043

I am grateful:

1.   I had an extra hour to sleep.
2.   I have prompts for poems each day this month.
3.   We had a wonderful lunch.
4.   Mom helped me shop at Wal-Mart.
5.   Today is day 300 of my creativity project.

This Sunday has been wonderful for me. I hope your day has also been great. Take time to create something now, before the day slips away from you. You are undoubtedly as gifted as I am, so you can definitely come up with work to share with the world.

As a prompt, write about a book you have read recently. Either review it, or let it suggest a story for you to work with. If you use this prompt, please leave a link to your work in the comments below.

I am thankful for your visit to my blog. If you enjoyed what you found here you might want to follow Chronicles. I am very interested in your thoughts, suggestions, or criticism, so please leave a comment.

Always,
Jo Ann

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Poetic Bloomings on November 4, 2012 - 9:47 pm

    Joann, your poem is amazing. To incorporate the Sunday Whirl words with the P.A. prompt is an ambitious task, but to do it seemlessly takes talent and brilliance. Bravo!

    Marie Elena

    • #2 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on November 8, 2012 - 10:27 am

      Thank you Marie. I was not at all sure about that poem, so it is nice that you liked it so much.

  2. #3 by Veronica Roth on November 4, 2012 - 10:52 pm

    Day 300! Congratulations JoAnn, look what you can do! Boy there’s gonna be a party in 65 more days. I went to Wal-Mart myself today. A couple Japanese visitors wanted to buy some maple syrup and it was at least $3 less there than anywhere else. And, to my big surprise, the cashier was friendly and patient with them as they tried to figure out the Canadian currency. I love your creativity of combining the two challenges, and love the little fish faces. Hope I get to the Sunday whirl this week. Speaking of Hope, where were the gun shots coming from? Scary.

    • #4 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on November 8, 2012 - 10:32 am

      Thanks Veronica, now I begin to think what I will do when the 365 are over. I don’t like Wal-Mart, but you cannot beat their prices.

      The gun shots were on someone else’s property. We live so far in the country that people sometimes target practice in their yards. Hope hates loud noises.

  3. #5 by vivinfrance on November 5, 2012 - 8:17 am

    Excellent wordle poem, if rather chilling! And I love the fish pix: they reminded me of my diving days living in Seychelles. I combined my wordle with Joseph Harker’s Reverie prompt to write about the sea.

    • #6 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on November 8, 2012 - 10:34 am

      Thank you so much. I enjoyed taking pictures of the fish. Must have been nice diving. I would love to do that.

  4. #7 by Andra Negroiu on November 5, 2012 - 2:22 pm

    Congratulations for reaching this impressive milestone, JoAnn! Your poem is an insightful portrayal of a sociopath and the havoc he/she wreaks in other people’s lives – charming on the surface, rotten to the core. The pictures are lovely as well.

    • #8 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on November 8, 2012 - 10:37 am

      Thank you Andra. I dealt with lots of bullies when I was younger. Lots of them were like the person described in the poem. I had not thought of them as sociopaths…

      I am glad you liked the pictures.

Leave a Reply

