365 Creativity Project-Day 327

Journal entry:

Journal 12-1-20120001

Journal 12-1-20120002

Journal 12-1-20120003

Rewards

I am
Writer, artist,
Photographer, I make
Magic out of almost nothing,
But it only matters if you find it
Worth your while, enjoying my work,
I need validation
Through your bright eyes
Always

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan
Saturday, December 1, 2012

Photographs:

DSC_0056

DSC_0057

DSC_0058

I am grateful:

1.   I am feeling marginally better.
2.   I was able to write three pages.
3.   Two more days and Alex will be home.
4.   I had hot water to shower in.
5.   I am loved by God, my family, and my friends.

I have had a very good Saturday and I hope you have too. Please take time to engage your imagination creatively. You have so much to share with the world if you only do the work. I know you can do it, because I did.

As a prompt, write about some type of magic. There is everyday magic, creative magic, and pure magic… write about what captures your interest. If you use this prompt, leave a link to your work in the comments below.

Thank you for reading my blog. I hope you found something enjoyable here. If so, please consider following Chronicles. I appreciate any thoughts, suggestions, or criticism you share, so please leave a comment.

Always,
Jo Ann

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Amanda Socci, Freelance Writer on December 1, 2012 - 9:16 pm

    I thoroughly enjoyed this blog post, JoAnn. Your handwriting is sweetly serene. I love the form you have given to your blog posts – handwritten pages, a short poem, a photo, and a short comment. By having been consistent with this pattern all year long, you now have, as you rightfully stated, an admirable body of work that is perfectly suited for publication. I sincerely hope you begin to have enough confidence in yourself that your writing is worthy of being published in a book.

    • #2 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on December 1, 2012 - 10:08 pm

      Thank you Amanda. I am glad you liked what I have written. I don’t know what will come of all I have done here, but at least I was brave enough to make an effort. I am so glad that a few people have shared the journey with me.

  2. #3 by startingthedialogue on December 1, 2012 - 9:52 pm

    When I did Julia’s course a few years ago I started out feeling I didn’t have anything to write, but as the days went on it got easier and I found myself really exploring my inner feelings. I don’t know that I would have been able to share all that on a blog, but at the time I wasn’t blogging. Good luck with your endeavor. Working through the exercises helped my writing and helped me explore who I was as a person and what direction I wanted to move forward into. This year I started the exercises again and put them aside for lack of time when I returned to full time employment but you’ve inspired me to pick it up again. Good luck with your efforts. Glad you’re feeling better.

    • #4 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on December 1, 2012 - 10:12 pm

      Julia has many wonderful books. The Right to Write is a bit less demanding than The Artist’s Way. I have read it before and just thought I would take some time to work through it.

      I am glad I have inspired you to take up the practice again. That makes what I did all worthwhile.

      I am feeling better, still recuperating, but better, thank you.

  3. #5 by Lara Britt on December 2, 2012 - 3:45 am

    Magic? My blog post today was in part on the Golden Mean, the key to mathematics but also the secret to Pythagorean mysticism. But mostly it was an excuse to post a nautilus shell and come up with a fun way to approach the work-life balance for writers. Stop on by and share your magic formula for time management. http://larabritt.com/2012/12/01/golden-mean/

    • #6 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on December 2, 2012 - 4:35 pm

      Thank you for reading my blog. I enjoyed your entry. I don’t really have a secret for time management. Does anyone? I just devote time to the task of writing.

  4. #7 by Veronica Roth on December 2, 2012 - 6:21 am

    My goodness JoAnn, that’s a great job of the three pages and I love how you see your project as a body of work. It’s very true. I also love Cameron’s books. It’s been ages since I read any. My all time favorite is The Artist’s Way. I still try to write the morning pages most days. 🙂

    • #8 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on December 2, 2012 - 4:40 pm

      Veronica, I am glad you enjoyed the three pages. Kinda just opening a vein and writing what poured out. I do not think all of what I have written over the year will be usable, but it is more than I have ever done before.

      I have most of Julia’s books, but I have never been able to maintain devotion to the morning pages. I like The Right to Write because it has manageable exercises. I am actually reading it because it is the book in discussion on the Goodreads page for Wordsmith Studio. If you would like join us there.

      Thank you so much for your thoughtful comment.

  5. #9 by Kiril The Mad Houstonian on December 3, 2012 - 7:50 pm

    Write to write is a great book! I’ve not tried the exercises, yet, though.

    Great poem, and beautiful pictures!

    You have accomplished so much this year to be proud of my friend. 😀

    • #10 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on December 5, 2012 - 11:11 pm

      I love The Right To Write. I have read it before, but I don’t think I have done the exercises. I am going to try to work my way through it.

      I am glad you liked the poem and pictures.

      I have done a lot this year… I guess the investment in a new computer last December was worthwhile because it prompted so much.

Leave a Reply

