365 Creativity Project-Day 328

Journal entry:

Journal 12-2-20120001

Today’s poem is in answer to The Sunday Whirl. If you need inspiration please visit that site.

Entreaties

All desire does not
Find me forlorn, but I wax
Eloquent about
Each drive I slake in rough-
hewn
Poems wrought by manic work.

I am doubly blessed
By creativity and
Rapt dedication
To making verses that sing
On magnificent pages.

I sand my words on
The harsh tongues that clash then fuse
In an affair which
Meets at the fork of my own
Ambitious conversation.

I embrace each line
I write with great devotion
Bringing them softly
To the open attention
Of people who read along.

I celebrate life
In the verses I capture
For entertainment
Of those who peruse the words
I place before their vision.

Jo Ann J. A. Jordan
Sunday, December 2, 2012

Photographs:

DSC_0061

DSC_0063

DSC_0065

I am grateful:

1.   I was able to catch some extra sleep this morning.
2.   Alex and I have talked via Voxer quite a lot today.
3.   We have a washer and dryer to take care of our clothes.
4.   We have a microwave that allows us to cook and warm food quickly.
5.   My printer still works after four years.

I have had a wonderful Sunday and I hope your day was just as good. Now devote yourself to working creatively for a while. If you do not capture your thoughts in a lasting form you cannot share them with others.

As a prompt, write about writing or writers. You might find you have a great deal you want to say. Writing always seems to be an inexhaustible subject for me. If you use this prompt, please leave a link to your work in the comments below.

I hope your visit to my blog has been pleasant. I appreciate you taking time to read my musings. Should you have thoughts, suggestions, or criticism to share, please leave a comment. If you would enjoy future updates delivered to you daily, subscribe to Chronicles.

Always,
Jo Ann

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Stephen Black on December 2, 2012 - 7:58 pm

    I appreciate your use of the transferred epithet. Bravo!

    • #2 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on December 2, 2012 - 9:11 pm

      Stephen, this must be something I did totally without meaning to… I have read the poem several times and am still not sure what you are commenting on. I know I played fast and loose with the words, but could you point out this serendipitous thing I did?

      Thank you by the way. I learned something from your comment.

      • #3 by Stephen Black on December 3, 2012 - 12:01 am

        Sorry. Magnificent pages. Magnificent would usually describe what’s on the page (magnificently inscribed pages, or magnificent pages of verse), but the adjective is transferred to the noun “pages”. It’s one of those “hm, didn’t see that one coming” things. “Verses that sing” and “rough-hewn poems” feels similar.

      • #4 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on December 3, 2012 - 12:19 am

        Thank you for the clarification… I just was not sure what you were seeing. It is always interesting to know how other people read a poem. I am glad I was able to perform a little word magic.

  2. #5 by Mama Pajama on December 3, 2012 - 4:37 pm

    hey, wow – lovely poem, and I Love that cabin! can you tell me more about it? and yes, I enjoyed my visit, thanks!

    • #6 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on December 5, 2012 - 11:07 pm

      Thank you. The cabin was built in 1839 and was moved to Callaway Gardens at some point. It is a simple one room cabin furnished with period pieces.

      I am glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you will come back again.

  3. #9 by Kiril The Mad Houstonian on December 3, 2012 - 7:47 pm

    Love the list, and the pics! Nice poem, too!

  4. #11 by seingraham on December 3, 2012 - 9:37 pm

    I agree with what everyone ahead of me has said and just wanted to add that I’m glad you questioned Stephen when you weren’t certain you understood what he was saying – that was smart and a little bit brave. So many others might have just let that opportunity go by; I think you’ll do well if you keep on writing as well and as often as you do, and also keep on asking questions. I am fast becoming a fan.

    http://thepoet-tree-house.blogspot.ca/2012/12/ecstasy-driven.html

    • #12 by Jo Ann J. A. Jordan on December 5, 2012 - 11:17 pm

      Thank you so much. I was puzzled which strange thing I did in this poem Stephen might be talking about. I did some serious playing with language though I did not know any of it had a name. I try not to be embarrassed so that I will not ask questions. I have learned in life that questions lead to growth and I use them.

      I am so glad you really liked what you found here.

Leave a Reply

